September 26, 2022

The upcoming 2021-22 PSA World Championships will turn out to be the richest skilled squash event in historical past when the perfect squash gamers on the planet line up in Cairo, Egypt subsequent month to battle for $1,100,000 in complete participant prize compensation, which is cut up equally amongst the female and male athletes.

Held between Could 13-22, the PSA World Championships is essentially the most prestigious event on the PSA World Tour and might be staged on the Membership S Allegria between Could 13-18, whereas a surprising all-glass courtroom might be erected on the Nationwide Museum of Egyptian Civilisation from Could 17 onwards, with motion from the third spherical and past being held at that venue.

The event might be headed up by World No.1s Paul Coll and Nouran Gohar, whereas reigning World Champions Ali Farag and Nour El Sherbini are seeded at No.2 for the occasion.

Coll, the one male New Zealander ever to achieve the summit of the PSA World Rankings, will start his event in opposition to wildcard Sheif Shenawy, whereas Farag is about to face Mexico’s Leonel Cardenas within the opening spherical.

Farag, a two-time World Champion, is drawn on the identical aspect of the draw because the likes of World No.4 Mostafa Asal and the damaging Marwan ElShorbagy, whereas Coll may come up in opposition to 2017 World Champion Mohamed ElShorbagy within the semi finals if matches go to seeding.

The lads’s draw additionally options two different former World Champions in Tarek Momen, the 2019-20 champion, and Karim Abdel Gawad, the 2016 champion. Momen takes on Malaysia’s Eain Yow Ng in spherical one, with Gawad set to face Dimitri Steinmann of Switzerland.

Gohar, a runner-up on the ladies’s 2020-21 PSA World Championships in Chicago, will get her occasion underneath means in opposition to France’s Enora Villard and is seeded to face USA’s Amanda Sobhy and No.8 seed Rowan Elaraby en path to the title decider.

Nouran Gohar will high the ladies’s draw

World No.2 Nour El Sherbini, who has received the PSA World Championship title on 5 of the earlier six events, will open up in opposition to Spain’s Cristina Gomez and is seeded to come back up in opposition to Allam British Open champion Hania El Hammamy in what can be a blockbuster semi closing battle.

The winners of the event will take residence roughly $80,000 in prize cash – the most important winner’s complete ever at a PSA occasion – whereas they may even qualify for June’s CIB PSA World Tour Finals, which brings collectively the reigning PSA World Champions, in addition to the winners of all PSA World Tour Platinum occasions for a season-ending showpiece occasion, additionally held in Cairo.

Simply two spots stay within the World Championship draw, with the winners of subsequent month’s Bermuda Open qualifying for the largest occasion on the PSA World Tour.

Motion from the glass courtroom at each the Membership S Allegria and the Nationwide Museum of Egyptian Civilisation might be broadcast reside on SQUASHTV, whereas the semi finals and finals might be proven reside by way of the channels of PSA’s broadcast companions.

For extra data on the 2021-22 PSA World Championships, go to the event’s official web site or observe the occasion on Twitter and Fb.

Males’s Draw: 2021-22 PSA World Championships
[1] Paul Coll (NZL) v [WC] Seif Shenawy (EGY)
Declan James (ENG) v Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND)
Karim El Hammamy (EGY) v [I] Ibrahim Elkabbani (EGY)
Tayyab Aslam (PAK) v [10] Mazen Hesham (EGY)
[9] Joel Makin (WAL) v [I] Leandro Romiglio (ARG)
Lucas Serme (FRA) v Mathieu Castagnet (FRA)
Faraz Khan (USA) v Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY)
Eain Yow Ng (MAS) v [6] Tarek Momen (EGY)
[8] Fares Dessouky (EGY) v [I] Rui Soares (POR)
George Parker (ENG) v Edmon Lopez (ESP)
James Willstrop (ENG) v Ramit Tandon (IND)
Auguste Dussourd (FRA) v [13] Gregoire Marche (FRA)
[12] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) v Dimitri Steinmann (SUI)
Baptiste Masotti (FRA) v Victor Crouin (FRA)
Shahjahan Khan (USA) v [Qualifier]
[I] Balazs Farkas (HUN) v [3] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)
[4] Mostafa Asal (EGY) v Adrian Waller (ENG)
Omar Mosaad (EGY) v Moustafa El Sirty (EGY)
Alan Clyne (SCO) v Todd Harrity (USA)
Zahed Salem (EGY) v [16] Saurav Ghosal (IND)
[15] Youssef Soliman (EGY) v Borja Golan (ESP)
Tsz Fung Yip (HKG) v [WC] Yassin Elshafei (EGY)
Sebastien Bonmalais (FRA) v Bernat Jaume (ESP)
Patrick Rooney (ENG) v [5] Diego Elias (PER)
[7] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) v Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP)
Henry Leung (HKG) v Ivan Yuen (MAS)
[I] Ryosei Kobayashi (JPN) v Nicolas Mueller (SUI)
Raphael Kandra (GER) v [14] Miguel Rodriguez (COL)
[11] Youssef Ibrahim (EGY) v Nathan Lake (ENG)
Greg Lobban (SCO) v Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)
Cesar Salazar (MEX) v Yahya Elnawasany (EGY)
Leonel Cardenas (MEX) v [2] Ali Farag (EGY)

Ladies’s Draw: 2021-22 PSA World Championships
[1] Nouran Gohar (EGY) v Enora Villard (FRA)
Nour Aboulmakarim (EGY) v [25] Farida Mohamed (EGY)
[30] Rachel Arnold (MAS) v Coline Aumard (FRA)
[I] Karina Tyma (POL) v [13] Tesni Evans (WAL)
[12] Joshna Chinappa (IND) v [I] Katie Malliff (ENG)
Cindy Merlo (SUI) v [18] Emily Whitlock (WAL)
[26] Hana Ramadan (EGY) v Marie Stephan (FRA)
Millie Tomlinson (ENG) v [8] Rowan Elaraby (EGY)
[5] Joelle King (NZL) v Tsz-Wing Tong (HKG)
Yathreb Adel (EGY) v [27] Mariam Metwally (EGY)
[17] Olivia Clyne (USA) v Julianne Courtice (ENG)
Tze Lok Ho (HKG) v [15] Nada Abbas (EGY)
[11] Nele Gilis (BEL) v Emilia Soini (FIN)
Lisa Aitken (SCO) v [29] Donna Lobban (AUS)
[31] Alexandra Fuller (RSA) v [I] Marta Dominguez Fernandez (ESP)
Haley Mendez (USA) v [4] Amanda Sobhy (USA)
[3] Hania El Hammamy (EGY) v Sana Ibrahim (EGY)
[I] Satomi Watanabe (JPN) v [19] Lucy Turmel (ENG)
[20] Danielle Letourneau (CAN) v Anna Serme (CZE)
Milou van der Heijden (NED) v [9] Georgina Kennedy (ENG)
[14] Nadine Shahin (EGY) v Nicole Bunyan (CAN)
[I] Saskia Beinhard (GER) v [21] Sivasangari Subramaniam (MAS)
[28] Aifa Azman (MAS) v Nour El Tayeb (EGY)
Ineta Mackevica (LAT) v [7] Salma Hany (EGY)
[6] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG) v Chan Sin Yuk (HKG)
Zeina Mickawy (EGY) v [24] Melissa Alves (FRA)
[22] Sabrina Sobhy (USA) v Jana Shiha (EGY)
Ka Yi Lee (HKG) v [10] Olivia Fiechter (USA)
[16] Hollie Naughton (CAN) v [WC] Nardine Garas (EGY)
[Qualifier] v [23] Tinne Gilis (BEL)
[32] Jasmine Hutton (ENG) v [WC] Kenzy Ayman (EGY)
Cristina Gomez (ESP) v [2] Nour El Sherbini (EGY)

Supply hyperlink