December 2, 2022

A five-year wait will come to an finish when the Tokyo Olympics begins on Friday. The Video games, initially scheduled to happen final 12 months, was postponed due to the pandemic. Regardless of the virus menace looming massive, the Olympics are lastly going forward this 12 months. And this time, India have despatched their largest ever contingent of greater than 125 athletes to the Olympics with the hope of not solely protecting the disappointments of the Rio Video games and but in addition going previous their best-ever medal tally on the London Olympics in 2012.

Right here is the total schedule of India on day 1 (July 23) of Olympics

Archery: Deepika Kumari in girls’s particular person rating spherical at 5:30am IST

Archery: Atanu Das, Tarundeep Rai and Pravin Jadhav in males’s particular person rating spherical at 9:30am IST

The quartet of Deepika Kumari, Atanu Das, Tarundeep Rai and Pravin Jadhav entered the mega-event with renewed hopes of profitable the nation’s first Olympic medal within the sport.

Competing in her third successive Olympics, two-time world No. 1 Deepika has seen all of it, from the lows of London to hitting rock-bottom at Rio 2016.

5 years down the road, the firebrand archer from Ranchi is within the type of her life having already gained 5 World Cup gold medals in latest instances.

Wiser and maybe extra daring, Deepika’s greatest problem could be to beat the Koreans, who’re each mentally and bodily robust.

Opening ceremony particulars

A complete of 20 Indian athletes from seven sports activities and 6 officers will take part within the Olympics opening ceremony on Friday at 4:30 pm IST.

The record of 20 attendees embrace 4 paddlers, together with Manika Batra and A Sharath Kamal, and as many crusing staff members.

Lone fencer C A Bhavani Devi, gymnast Pranati Naik and swimmer Sajan Prakash moreover as many as eight boxers can even be there. Aside from MC Mary Kom, who can also be a flag-bearer alongside Manpreet, Lovlina Borgohain, Pooja Rani, Amit Panghal, Manish Kaushik, Ashish Kumar and Satish Kumar will take part within the ceremony.

Boxer MC Mary Kom and males’s hockey staff captain Manpreet Singh will likely be India’s flag bearers within the occasion.

(With PTI inputs)

Supply hyperlink